House Committee votes to deny new franchise to ABS-CBN. - PH Trending

PH Trending

Latest Philippine news, trending stories about people, politics, sports, viral videos, technologies & more...


Post Top Ad

Friday 10 July 2020

House Committee votes to deny new franchise to ABS-CBN.

70 yes votes, 11 no votes, two inhibitions and one abstention

The members of the House committee on legislative franchises on Friday handed their decision on the fate of ABS-CBN: The network’s bid for a 25-year franchise was rejected.

70 affirmative votes were more than enough to adopt the panel’s technical working group’s (TWG) report titled: “Resolution Denying the Franchise Application of ABS-CBN Corporation to Construct, Install, Establish, Operate and Maintain Radio and Broadcasting Stations in the Philippines.”

Only 11 lawmakers voted against the resolution while two inhibited and one chose to abstain.

Congressmen and Congresswomen who stood up for ABS-CBN:
1. Sol Aragones
2. Toff De Venecia
3. Caloi Zarate
4. Gab Bordado
5. Vilma Santos
6. Lianda Bolilia
7. Ping Tejada
8. Beny Abante
9. Stella Quimbo
10. Mujiv Hataman
11.  Edward Maceda


No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad